CD Review – Ed Sheeran – +

CD Review – Ed Sheeran – +

Ed Sheeran

Listen to: Lego House
Skip it: Just don’t

He’s pop, he’s hip-hop, he’s folk, he’s everything and more.

The variety of Ed Sheeran’s tracks could easily be accredited to his diverse list of inspiring musicians James Morrison, Damien Rice and Jay-Z.

Sheeran’s range and diversity truly shines through on his full-length debut +, most notably, for example between tracks “Small Bump” which is likely the sweetest, most heartfelt song I have yet to hear in my existence, and a song that‘s just plain fun to listen to called “The City.”

As 21-year-old Lego fan myself, I may come off biased when I say that my favourite track on this album is “Lego House.”

However – Lego lyrics aside, this song is an honest and refreshingly age appropriate love song with simple lyrics backed by the sounds of a soft acoustic guitar.

+, not only full of a variety, is an emotional rollercoaster leaving the listener feeling happy, sad, and every emotion between by the time the ride’s over.

All in all, this album kept me on the edge of my seat, not knowing what I would hear next and has left me wanting more.

Ed sets out on his first North American headlining tour this September, kicking things off at Toronto’s Kool Haus on the 17.

If you appreciate lyrical substance and something different, you’ll like Ed Sheeran.

Track Listing:
1.  The A Team
2. Drunk
3. U.N.I
4. Grade 8
5. Wake Me Up
6. Small Bump
7. This
8. The City
9. Lego House
10.  You Need Me, I Don’t Need You
11. Kiss Me
12. Give Me Love

- Katie Campanella